Golden Star Announces Annual General and Special Meeting Results

TORONTO -- (Marketwired) -- 05/10/13 -- Golden Star Resources Ltd. (NYSE MKT: GSS) (TSX: GSC) (GHANA: GSR) ("Golden Star" or the "Company") announced the results of its Annual General and Special Meeting ("AGM") held May 9, 2013 in Toronto, Ontario.

Election of Directors
During the AGM the shareholders elected Timothy C. Baker , Samuel T. Coetzer , Robert E. Doyle , Tony A. Jensen , Ian MacGregor , Craig J. Nelsen , Christopher M. T. Thompson and William L. Yeates to the Company's Board of Directors ("Board") to hold the office until the next annual meeting of shareholders or until their successors are elected or appointed. Timothy C. Baker was appointed as the Chairman post re-election to the Board.

The formal detailed report on voting results with respect to all matters voted upon at the AGM can be accessed under the Company's SEDAR and EDGAR filings.

Company Profile

Golden Star holds a 90% equity interest in Golden Star (Bogoso/Prestea) Limited and Golden Star (Wassa) Limited, which respectively own the Bogoso/Prestea and Wassa/HBB open-pit gold mines in Ghana. In addition, Golden Star has an 81% interest in the currently inactive Prestea Underground mine in Ghana, as well as gold exploration interests elsewhere in Ghana, in other parts of West Africa and in Brazil in South America. Golden Star has approximately 259 million shares outstanding.

For further information, please contact:

Jeff Swinoga
Executive Vice-President and Chief Financial Officer

Belinda Labatte
The Capital Lab, Inc.

Greg DiTomaso
The Capital Lab, Inc.

Source: Golden Star Resources